Firestorm mini .40 recoil springs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Firestorm mini .40 recoil springs

I'm new to the forum and although I enjoy guns and target shooting, I'm not an expert by any means. Several years ago a purchased an original Firestorm(non Bersa) mini .40 that had one magazine shot through it. It's the 2 tone model. Basically like new. The guy didn't like how noisy it was and the recoil. Guns, noisy?? My issue is it has both the inner and outer recoil springs. I'm 68 years old and it's difficult to pull the slide back due to the spring(s) tension and arthritis. I have a Hi-Point .40 and, tried a Glock and Sig of comparable models and the slide is much easier to pull on all of them. As an experiment I removed the outer spring, reassembled it and, tried pulling the slide. A remarkable difference and much easier to pull. Are both springs absolutely necessary? Will removing the outer spring cause more recoil felt? I didn't try firing it, with only one spring, for fear it would do damage. I know there's a great deal of science involve in weaponry. Thanks in advance.

Re: Firestorm mini .40 recoil springs

Yes, both are needed at least right now, just removing one spring will likely hammer the slide to death, or result in failures because of the increase of slide speed. The spring tensions are carefully calculated to balance preventing damage to the pistol and reliablity . A knowledgeable smith may well be able to find the lightest weight springs needed for reliability and ease of use. Wolfgang may be around soon and give you a better answer.

Comment