Slug barrel question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Slug barrel question

I recently purchased a Mossberg 500 .410 at an auction. I want to get a slug barrel for it. I have been spending time on the www and understand that Mossberg no longer makes a slug barrel for that particular model. I emailed Mossberg several weeks ago but no response yet. I also have read where you can ream the full choke and open it so rifle slugs can be fired. Another solution was to cut the barrel back to the first rib on barrel. This will open the choke enough to fire slugs. Anyone have any actual knowledge with modifing shotgun full chokes to shoot rlifled slugs. I have no experience with slug barrels. Thank you in advance.
    TO BE UNARMED IS TO BE A VICTIM

Re: Slug barrel question

You can fix the choke problem, but the barrel will still not be rifled and therefore will still not be very accurate with slugs. What do you want to hunt with it?

Comment

Not to be contracictory, but you can shoot foster slugs through a full choke .410. Have taken white tail up to 40 yards with one. Shoot and practise until you can closely guesstimate the yardage (distance) until you know the drop at varying distances. While not exceptionally accurate with a full choke, they do have the kinetic energy to get the job done. I would cut the barrel such that you are just at the cylinder bore, which will improve accuracy, although when shoot shot the spread will suffer.
      Last edited by USNRETIRED; 02-22-2013, 08:52 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by douggreen View Post
        You can fix the choke problem, but the barrel will still not be rifled and therefore will still not be very accurate with slugs. What do you want to hunt with it?